I’d like to be able to say that I created an eggless cake recipe for a good friend, or a child in my son’s class… But actually I Googled a recipe to use up some condensed milk, came across a recipe on a blog site and thought I’d give it a go as I’d never tried an eggless recipe. I more or less followed it (but forgot the water). It worked pretty well – good choolatey cake, but a bit dry and definitely needed icing (I made vanilla butter icing). Perhaps the water would have helped… I might try it again with some cherries and kirsch. A useful recipe to have, though, as it doesn’t use either eggs or sugar.

The quantities below will give you enough for a dozen cupcakes; the original recipe in the link at the bottom is for a 9″ cake.

Ingredients:
125g / 5oz SR flour
50g / 2oz good quality cocoa powder
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
225g condensed milk
100g / 4oz butter, melted
2 tsp vanilla essence

Method:
Sift the dry ingredients together and ensure they are mixed well. Stir in the melted butter, condensed milk and vanilla essence. Stir briefly until mix is smooth. Spoon into cupcake cases and bake for 15 minutes at 150 degrees. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

I used my mum’s recipe for butter icing: bit of butter, add some icing sugar and vanilla essence and mix until the right taste and texture, adding a bit more of each as necessary… spread over the top of each cupcake and decorate with sugar strands etc if you like

Enjoy!

http://www.divinetaste.com/archives/eggless-chocolate-cake/

20110927-125926.jpg

